Location: Belize  is located in Central America, south of Mexico, west and north of Guatemala and bounded on the east by the Caribbean Sea.
Independence: formerly a British colony it gained its independence from Great Britain on September 21st 1981. Formerly known as British Honduras.
Capital: Belmopan
Size: 8,867 sq. mls.
Population: 250, 000
People: Belizeans are a rich ethnic and cultural mix of people, which include these ethnic groups: Creole, Spanish, Mestizos, Maya (Ketchi and Mopan) Garinagou, East Indians, Arabs, and Germans (Mennonites).
Language: English (official language) Creole, Spanish, Garifuna, Maya.
Climate: Tropical to Sub-tropical with a mean annual temperature of 79 F (80's in the Winter and 90's+ in the summer).
Seasons: A Wet (June to Nov) and Dry season (March to June)
Rainfall: Varies from 50" in the North to 170" in the South
Districts: The country is divided into 6 districts: Corozal, Orange Walk, Belize, Cayo, Stann Creek, Toledo.
Government: A stable democratic government lead by a Prime Minister.
Member: Common Wealth of Nations, and United Nations
Industries: Agricultural based includes sugar, bananas, citrus, corn, rice, cattle, fisheries, and logwood. Tourism becoming prominent as more people discover Belize.
Currency: the Belize dollar is called a dollar. The exchange rate is $1US dollar = $2 BZE dollars.

Courtesy of